Trying To Put Out My Dumpster Fire

***********************************************************************************

Quotes Frm 'What Looks Like Crazy...'


"...I made the mistake of listening to one of those TV talk shows. They were interviewing some women with what the host kept calling full-blown AIDS. As opposed to half-blown AIDS, I guess. ... The audience was eating it up, but it got on my last nerve. The thing is, half these bitches are lying. More than half. They get diagnosed and all of a sudden they're Mother Teresa. I can't be positive! It's impossible! I'm practically a virgin! Bullshit. They got it just like I got it: fucking men."

"White men in expensive suits are always a little pissed to find themselves seated next to me in first class, especially since I started wearing my hair so short. They seem to take it as some personal affront that of all the seats on the airplane, the baldheaded black woman showed up next to them."

"I was distracted, and that's when you run the risk of leaving the perm on too long, or cutting the bangs too short, or putting the crimp in sideways and your life isn't worth two cents. Sisters will forgive you a lot, but do not fuck up their hair."

"Natural disasters were no longer my main concern. That's one of the things about being [HIV] positive. It focuses your fear. You don't have to worry about auto accidents, breast cancer, nerve gas on the subway. None of that shit. You already know your death by name."

"When she asked me what I thought, I knew it was a trick. Grown people never ask you what they should do until they've already decided for themselves. They don't tell you that, of course, but they stand there and wait for you to either confirm their good judgement or reveal yourself as not as smart as they thought you were by advising them in the other direction."

"'You know what your problem is? You ain't slowed down long enough to see the lessons yet, youngblood. Lessons everywhere...flying around like birds, but you ain't even take a minute to check 'em out cause you movin' too fast cutting you a path.'"

"I was nervous at first, we both were, but we just kept trying this and touching that and we laughed a lot. That was the best surprise. Most brothers are so worried about being the biggest or the baddest or the best you ever had that having fun ain't even in it."

"...he just smiled and said the soreness would go away once I got back in shape. I liked that he said back in shape. Made it sound like I'd been there before and just stepped out for a minute."

4:07 pm - Sunday, Oct. 10, 2010

***********************************************************************************

Past Fuck Ups - Future Lessons

Current Issue

Profile

Past Issues

Note

DLand

Contact

Those I Heart:

Silentpoetry
Burntpenguin
Valasaurus
Atwowaydream
Vxxen
Cherrygash
Myf-nlife